The Resurrection of the Pointe Shoes: Jet Glue

I’ve had a long week of rehearsals, and I know that my pointe shoes are starting to die on me. So tonight, I decided to jet glue my pointe shoes. Jet glue is a product that is quick drying and is able to add support to the parts of your shoe that are the “smushiest.” The key to jet glueing is to know your feet and how they fit in your shoes. Where does your shoe die? Where are the soft spots? Where are your feet the strongest, requiring the most support? Where does your arch fit in the shoe? The other challenge with jet glue is how painful it can be if you get it on your skin! Once, my fingers got stuck together, and it took a long time and a lot of soap and water to get the burning sensation to stop. Now, I always use gloves, but you should be very careful not to get it in your eyes or to inhale it too strongly!

A small bottle on Amazon costs $9.99, which may seem like a lot at first, but is well worth the money when you consider how much pointe shoes cost. A little bottle goes a long way!

My tutorial is below, as well as pictures.

1. You will need jet glue, a safety pin, rubber gloves, and of course, dead pointe shoes!

2. The jet glue bottle always comes sealed, and even if you have used it, it will usually glue shut, so you will need to carefully break the seal by inserting the safety pin into the tip of the bottle.

3. Pull the drawstrings outside of the shoes so they do not accidentally get stuck inside!

4. If the box of your shoes need support, like mine do, tip your shoes down and put the tube inside of the shoe. Make sure the bottle does not drip on the exterior of the shoe, as it leaves a mark.

5. Gently squeeze the bottle so the liquid glue drips across the platform. I usually add extra in the corners of the box, where my shoe often dies, and I add some extra glue on the creases of the shank connecting to the box – basically, the sides. Watch out! This stuff drips fast.

6. If your shank, or your arches, need support, flip the shoe over and locate where your arches would be. For my Grishkos, it is between the letter H and the numbers 5 1/2. Then, holding the bottle on the surface, gently squeeze like you are drawing on the shoe. You don’t need to squeeze too hard here.

7. To dry, I always lean my shoes on the wall directly behind my desk so that the box is down and the arch is away from the wall. If you don’t have a spot this will work, you could also hang the shoes on the back of a chair.

20130423-224002.jpg

20130423-224019.jpg

20130423-224034.jpg

20130423-224045.jpg

20130423-224057.jpg

20130423-224109.jpg

20130423-224120.jpg

20130423-224128.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Resurrection of the Pointe Shoes: Jet Glue

Leave a Reply

